Along the Pentland Road, 25 May 2017

Wednesday, 2 September 2009

Wednesday 2 September

Bright start to the day, but cloud is gradually increasing. Rain is on its way in from the southwest, but not before the afternoon is out.

Hurricane Jimena (I keep misspelling its name) is heading into Baja California, but is weakening all the while. By landfall, later today, it'll be a category I or II system; fears were for a category IV strike. Tropical storm Erika is an incoherent storm off the Leeward Islands, which is set to head northwest. It won't come to very much, as atmospheric conditions are not very conducive towards strengthening.

A powerful earthquake has struck the Indonesian island of Java at 0821 GMT today (0921 BST or 0421 EST). Centred at position 8.0S 107.4E, the Indian Ocean basin was put on tsunami watch, which was cancelled within the last hour. Some damage was caused to buildings in the west of Java.

2 comments:

  1. Earthquake...wow. I like coming hear for the hurricane update....I'm reading a hurricane book right now. "Inside the Hurricane: Face to Face" with Pete Davies.

    Have a good day,

    ReplyDelete
  2. I thought I caught word of another TS named Erika (?) perhaps hitting or brushing our area of the East Coast...again. Seems this year they are taking a much different path than previous years.

    ReplyDelete